Country codes

Country codes are made up of two letters indicating the country or organisation where the patent application was filed or granted (e.g. GB).

CC Name
AL Albania
AP African Regional Industrial Property Organization
AR Argentina
AT Austria
AU Australia
BA Bosnia and Herzegovina
BE Belgium
BG Bulgaria
BR Brazil
CA Canada
CH Switzerland
CL Chile
CN China
CO Colombia
CR Costa Rica
CS Czechoslovakia (up to 1993)
CU Cuba
CY Cyprus
CZ Czech Republic
DD Germany, excluding the territory that, prior to 3 October 1990, constituted the Federal Republic of Germany
DE Germany
DK Denmark
DZ Algeria
EA Eurasian Patent Organisation
EC Ecuador
EE Estonia
EG Egypt
EP European Patent Office
ES Spain
FI Finland
FR France
GB United Kingdom
GC Golf Cooperation Council
GE Georgia
GR Greece
GT Guatemala
HK Hong Kong
HR Croatia
HU Hungary
ID Indonesia
IE Ireland
IL Israel
IN India
IS Iceland
IT Italy
JP Japan
KE Kenya
KR Republic of Korea
LI Liechtenstein
LT Lithuania
LU Luxembourg
LV Latvia
MA Morocco
MC Monaco
MD Republic of Moldova
MK Republic of North Macedonia
MN Mongolia
MT Malta
MW Malawi
MX Mexico
MY Malaysia
NC New Caledonia
NI Nicaragua
NL Netherlands
NO Norway
NZ New Zealand
OA African Intellectual Property Organization
PA Panama
PE Peru
PH Philippines
PL Poland
PT Portugal
RO Romania
RU Russian Federation
SE Sweden
SG Singapore
SI Slovenia
SK Slovakia
SU Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
SV El Salvador
TJ Tajikistan
TR Turkey
TT Trinidad and Tobago
TW Taiwan
UA Ukraine
US United States of America
UY Uruguay
VN Vietnam
WO World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO)
YU Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro)
ZA South Africa
ZM Zambia
ZW Zimbabwe